LIVE: draw for WC 2022

Follow the draw for the 2022 FIFA World Cup lives with ESPNstarting with all the construction before the ceremony itself begins at. 16 GMT, noon ET.

LIVE BLOG

NB: Please refresh the page to get the latest updates …..

13.44 ET / 17.44 GMT: What about Mexico? The Tri has been drawn in Group C against Saudi Arabia, Poland and Argentina.

Mexico has qualified from their group in the last seven World Cups, and only Brazil has achieved the same feat. Mexico would like to go through with Argentina, but Robert Lewandowski with Poland will provide some resistance.

13.36 ET / 17.36 GMT: In Group A we have hosts Qatar plus Ecuador, Senegal and the Netherlands.

This group is important to the United States and England. The winners of group A play against the second place of group B in the round of 16, and the winners of group B meet the second place of group A.

The Netherlands will be favorites to win Group A and take second place in Group B.

13.30 ET / 17.30 GMT: England and USA have met each other twice before in the World Cup finals.

In 1950, the United States famously won 1-0 in Belo Horizonte, Brazil.

Recently, the two teams played a 1-1 draw in Rustenburg, South Africa in 2010. Steven Gerrard gave England an early lead before Clint Dempsey got a point.

England have never before played IR Iran at the World Cup, but so has the United States. In 1998 in Lyon, France, it was Iran who claimed a 2-1 victory with a late American consolation goal for Brian McBride.

13.25 ET / 17.25 GMT: Let’s start with Group B, with the United States and England.

These are fixtures.

November 21: England vs. IR Iran, USA vs. Wales / Scotland / Ukraine
November 25: England vs. USA, Wales / Scotland / Ukraine vs. IR Iran
November 29: Wales / Scotland / Ukraine vs. England, IR Iran vs. USA

And here’s ESPN’s Mark Ogden, who before the draw says the United States would be a tough draw for England.

Game

1:16

Mark Ogden feels that the USMNT will pose a threat to England if they are drawn in the same group in Qatar.

13.20 ET / 17.20 GMT: Pyha! It went at a furious pace when the draw actually began. Now we can take a few seconds and take a look at the groups and how they could all cope.

13.11 ET / 17.11 GMT: NOW DRAWING POT 4:

First out of Pot 4, and that’s it Peru or Australia / United Arab Emirates. They have to go into Group D2 due to draw restrictions.

Ecuador is out next and they will be in A2 and play the opening match in the final against the hosts Qatar.

Next is it Saudi Arabia and they must enter C2.

Costa Rica or New Zealand up next time and they can not go into the American group. This means that the playoffs jump to E2.

Now we know who England and the United States will get! These are the winners of the UEFA playoffs in between Wales or Scotland / Ukraine. It will be the US opening match on November 21st.

Cameroon is in G4 with Brazil, with Ghana into H2 with Portugal.

And last but not least, the headline made you read this article Canada into F2 with Belgium, Morocco and Croatia.

13.03 ET / 17.03 GMT: NOW POT 3 DRAWS:

IR Iran is first out in Pot 3 and they have to play against USA and England! IR Iran is B2 and must first play against England.

Next out, is it Senegal. They enter the A3.

And Poland is C4.

Serbia can not go into D, E and F as there are already two European teams. So they go to G with Brazil and Switzerland. G2, and Serbia first play against Brazil.

Tunisia must play against France and Denmark, drawn to D4.

And in E4 it is Japan.

Morocco enters group F3, and South Korea into H.

12.54 ET / 16.54 GMT: NOW POT 2 DRAWS:

First out … it is Netherlands. They enter the A4.

And it is USA vs. England Group B on Friday 25 November! USA is B3.

Into Group C, that is Mexico! Mexico in place 3.

Denmark is the fourth team out in D3.

And now we have … Germany! They have to play against Spain in Group E! Position 3.

And Croatia go into F4.

Uruguay is next out, but for the first time we have a block on the draw. They can not join Brazil in Group G, so Uruguay goes to H3 with Portugal.

So Switzerland is in G3.

12.47 ET / 16.47 GMT: NOW POT 1:

G1 is Braziland this means that H1 is Portugal.

F1 next, that is Belgium.

Now E1 for Spain.

France is in group D1.

And next out, it is Argentina! They go into C1.

England is first out after Qatar and into Group B! They go into B2.

12.46 ET / 16.46 GMT: Here we go!

12.44 ET / 16.44 GMT: Now the draw procedure is explained to us. It’s probably not long until …

12.39 ET / 16.39 GMT: The eight FIFA legends who will make the draw are now being introduced.

As a reminder, it is Cafu (Brazil), Lothar Matthaus (Germany), Adel Ahmed MalAllah (Qatar), Ali Daei (IR Iran), Bora Milutinovic (Serbia / Mexico), Jay-Jay Okocha (Nigeria), Rabah Madjer (Algeria )) and Tim Cahill (Australia).

12.35 ET / 16.35 GMT: We just watched a video about the history of Qatar, which hosts the World Cup, and now the American football legend and double World Cup winner for women Carli Lloyd, the former English player Jermaine Jenas and the British-Jamaican sports representative Samantha Johnson have entered on stage for the draw!

They give their own little speeches so we do not get drawn any team until in a few minutes yet.

12.32 ET / 16.32 GMT: France coach Didier Deschamps brings the World Cup trophy to the stage. France won the World Cup final in 2018 by beating Croatia 4-2. He answers a few questions from the hosts.

12.29 ET / 16.29 GMT: It’s time! Here is a reminder of your draws.

12.27 ET / 16.27 GMT: Hosts Idris Elba and Reshmin Chowdhury are now concluding the first part of the ceremony with a tribute to some famous footballers who have recently died, including Diego Maradona, Gordon Banks and Gerd Muller.

12.25 ET / 16.25 GMT: So this is how the draw is going to work.

– It starts with Pot 1, the strongest pot. A team will be drawn to a position in each group (1, 2, 3 or 4) except Qatar, which will be A1.
– After Pot 1, we go through 2, 3 and 4 and empty each pot before moving on.
– There must not be more than one team from each region, except for Europe. There will be 5 groups with two teams from Europe. Each group must have at least one team from Europe.

12.20 ET / 16.20 GMT: It’s not long until now. FIFA President Gianni Infantino has arrived to give his pre-draw speech.

12.17 ET / 16.17 GMT: Each tournament must have an official mascot, and for the Qatar World Cup it’s La’eeb!

12.11 ET / 16.11 GMT: So who makes the draw? Just some football legends!

Cafu (Brazil) and Lothar Matthaus (Germany) will team up with six more assistants. They will be joined by Adel Ahmed MalAllah (Qatar), Ali Daei (IR Iran), Bora Milutinovic (Serbia / Mexico), Jay-Jay Okocha (Nigeria), Rabah Madjer (Algeria) and Tim Cahill (Australia).

12.05 ET / 16.05 GMT: The ceremony, hosted by actor Idris Elba, is underway in Doha.

Right now, there are six people in illuminated rings spinning around the stage. After all, that’s what we all wanted.

There’s a lot more of this before we get any teams drawn.

11.59 ET / 15.59 GMT: The 2026 World Cup will be hosted by the United States, Mexico and Canada … and the presidents of the FAs have turned up to see how it is done. From left to right, Canada’s Nick Bontis, President of the American Football Association, Cindy Parlow Cone, and Mexican Football Association President, Yon de Luisa.

11.52 ET / 15.52 GMT: Looking at possible draws…. what about a group of England, USA, South Korea and Ghana? The United States always pulls Ghana!

Of course, the dream draw for the US and Mexico, both in the Pot 2 draw, is to get the hosts Qatar.

Qatar is ranked 51st in the world, while the rest of Pot 1 (Brazil, Belgium, France, Argentina, England, Spain, Portugal) are the top ranked countries in the world.

So the US and Mexico would love to get maybe Qatar, South Korea and Ghana.

11.45 ET / 15.45 GMT: Only 15 minutes until the draw ceremony starts. That’s what they all play for …

11.41 ET / 15.41 GMT: Coach Tite and the legends Kaka and Bebeto are among the entourage that is in Qatar to see who tournament favorites Brazil gets in their group.

11.36 ET / 15.36 GMT: After more than 11 years since they won the bid to host the World Cup, Friday is a landmark day for Qatar’s biggest event to date. Now things are becoming real. ESPN’s Gab Marcotti discusses Qatar as a surprising host country.

11.31 ET / 15.31 GMT: The United States failed to qualify for the World Cup in 2018. But this time it’s BACK! What has changed since then?

Game

1:12

Taylor Twellman talks about what has changed for American football from not qualifying in 2018 until now.

11.25 ET / 15.25 GMT: Qatar will be the smallest country to ever host a World Cup final. Just to give you an idea of ​​the size of Qatar (11,571 square kilometers), it’s smaller than Connecticut (14,357 square kilometers) – ESPN’s home in the United States. The only states smaller than Qatar are Delaware (6,646 square kilometers). km) and Rhode Island (4,001 km2)

11.18 ET / 15.18 GMT: We will know the group game matches and dates for all 32 teams as soon as the draw is made. However, we will have to wait to discover venues and times for kickoff. FIFA will optimize the order of matches to the demand of the supporters and to fit in with the local TV audience for the participating teams.

– World Cup finals bracket and match program

11.12 ET / 15.12 GMT: ESPN senior writer James Olley is already in the auditorium and can show us how the Convention Center fills up.

11.10 ET / 15.10 GMT: Guests already arrive at the Doha Exhibition and Convention Center prior to the draw.

The event is hosted by the American football legend and two-time winner of the World Cup for women Carli Lloydformer English player Jermaine Jenas and British-Jamaican sports host Samantha Johnson.

Here’s Carli chatting with American men’s coach Gregg Berhalter on the red carpet.

11.00 ET / 15.00 GMT: Welcome to the draw for the 2022 World Cup finals …. DIRECT! Over the next few hours, we’ll give you a taste of the draw and the highlights from the ceremony itself, which begins at 16.00 GMT, noon ET.

Pot 1 features the hosts, Qatar, along with the strongest seven nations according to the new FIFA world rankings, which were announced Thursday ahead of the draw.

The other pools are filled in order according to FIFA’s world rankings, except for Pot 4, which contains the five lowest ranked nations along with the winners of the three remaining finals (two intercontinental and the excellent UEFA path involving Ukraine, which is due to play in June ).

Leave a Comment